My Story

When I moved out West to Reno, Nevada, at first it was hard for me to stay motivated on school work when I was surround by such beautiful mountains and amazing snow. Since skiing was one of the main reasons that I decided to pack up my belongings and head nearly 3,000 miles across the country, it was really the only thing on my mind. However, in my second semester of college I took a serious fall while skiing that resulted in two compression fractures in my L1 vertebrae. As a result, over the next three and a half months I was required to wear a turtle shell type body cast so that my back would heal in the best possible way. All physical activity, including skiing, came to a screeching halt and fear began to set in that I would not be able to return to the same level of skiing I was at before the injury.

Luckily, I was a college student enrolled at a great university so the possibilities of things to do were still limitless. It was at this point that I discovered my second passion in life for Business management and entrepreneurship. Being able to take my mind off skiing and focus on something else was crucial in helping me keep my sanity while I was recovering. Instead of simply sulking in self-pity, I was able to focus all my energy on my classes and I really began to see how business could change my life. School was a great help in the recovery process but I also made a promise to myself that I would not let a freak injury like this stop me from doing what I love. Therefore, when the cast came off and it was time to begin physical therapy, I made sure I put in 110% effort so that I would be prepared to have a strong return to skiing the next season.

It has been almost four years since I sustained that life changing injury and some things have changed, but many things have not. I still manage to put in over 100 days of skiing a year, but now I am more focused on the academic side of things. I have come to the realization that skiing is a dangerous sport and nothing is ever promised to last forever so it is important to have an education to fall back on. Now I work harder then ever training for skiing as well as on my schoolwork and as a result it makes me a very busy but happy person. It is my goal to one day be able to combine my two passions of business and skiing into a job that I can be happy doing every day of my life. My blog will include skiing news, reviews, tips, upcoming events, popular videos, and some of my personal experiences centered around Lake Tahoe to provide a place for discussion and insight into the skiing community.

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

