Helmet or Not?

Hey everyone, unfortunately I was unable to attend the TGR premier at Alpine Meadows this weekend because I was called into work on Friday night. I heard good things about the movie such as extreme big mountain lines as can always be expected from the TGR crew, but I will have to wait to give the full review until I see the movie myself. That being said, today I found an interesting blog post on helmets that made me think about the issue on whether or not they should be made mandatory for skiers.

Helmet laws have become increasingly popular over the past decade as many states have made them mandatory for motorcyclists. According to Bikerights.com, there are only two states remaining that have no regulation whatsoever on helmets. On the skiing side of things, there are currently no helmet laws enacted, but the recent death of Natasha Richardson in 2009  at Mount Tremblant has created more support to make helmets a mandatory part of skiing.

In my opinion, I feel that whether or not someone decides to wear a helmet should be up to them. We live in a country that is built on personal freedom and there is nothing more personal than one’s own body. I believe that it is wrong for a government institution to tell us what we can and can’t do with our body even if it is a safety issue like wearing a helmet. Everyone who goes skiing should know that it is a risky sport and with it comes the possibility of injury. Therefore, if you choose to put your own physical health at risk by not wearing a helmet then your decision should be respected. Whether or not you wear a helmet is not going to affect someone else’s personal well being, so as long as your decision is not harming anyone else, then I feel it should be left to you.

Another part of the skiing helmet issue is whether the law should be enacted solely for minors under the age of 18. This means that adults would be free to choose whether or not they wanted to wear a helmet, while kids and teens would be required to wear one regardless. I feel that this is not so much an issue that needs to be resolved by a law but instead should be enforced by parents and ski instructors. It is a parents job to make sure that their kid is safe, and if this means buying their child a helmet, then they should do so. However, I do not feel that teens should be required by law to wear a helmet because they should have control over their body just as an adult should. Once again, if a teen wishes to ski without a helmet then they should be able to do so at their own risk and not be punished for making a decision that will only affect their own personal well-being.

Please feel free to share your comments and opinions on helmet laws for skiers.

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

