Ski Movie Review – The Grand Bizzare

This past Friday I got the chance to check out the premier of Poor Boyz Productions movie called “The Grand Bizarre” at Best Pies in Truckee, CA. Best Pies was filled with stoke as many skiers and snow enthusiasts filled the small restaurant anxiously waiting for the movie to start. Once the movie began, everyone stopped conversation and stared in awe as they watched another great ski movie from Poor Boyz.

The Grand Bizarre was a well-rounded movie that catered to all aspects of freestyle skiing from Simon Dumonts uniquely cut half-pipe to big mountain lines and mind-blowing urban. This movie is truly one that all skiers can find some interest in. The soundtrack was pretty good but there was a couple songs that I was not to fond of. I do give them credit for having a wide variety of music but I just felt that some songs didn’t flow with skiing as nicely as they could have.

After I finished watching the movie there were a couple stand out performances that remained on my mind. First of all, the movie kicks off with Bobby Brown’s flawless jumping and absolutely stomped triple cork, which will forever be rememberd in freeskiing history. Next, Dane Tudor brings his skills to the back-country where he showcases why he is one of the best by spinning both ways and skiing some incredible big mountain lines. Both Cam Riley and LJ Strenio have unreal urban segments and Leigh Powis impressed me with some unqiue features. Finally, Josh Stack, someone who is relatively new to the Poor Boyz crew, suprised me with some smooth style and technical tricks in the back-country.

Overall, I thought that the Poor Boyz crew did a great job in producing the Grand Bizarre this year. Like I said earlier, this is truly a well-rounded movie so if you are someone that likes a little bit of everything in skiiing then I would recommend this for you. Please feel free to add your thoughts or questions about this movie!

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

