Ski Resort Overview – Alpine Meadows

Alpine Meadows is one of my favorite resorts in the Lake Tahoe area and here are three reasons why:

1.) Great Terrain: Alpine Meadows offers a wide variety of terrain from intermediate to advanced. Whatever your skill level is, Alpine Meadows has something to cater to your ability. So Whether you are looking to send it big off some cliffs, ski a nice open bowl, get some adrenaline pumping in a tight chute, or just have a mellow day on the groomers, Alpine has the terrain for you. Another great thing about Alpine is that they have lots of extra terrain that is not lift accesible, but you can hike to if you have the ambition. This is one of the greatest things about this mountain because you can escape from the masses and find some fresh powder all to yourself. If you do dedcide to do this, make sure that you know what you are doing and never go out alone.

2.) Less people, great atmosphere: One of the main attractions for Alpine to me is the mellow atmosphere. Everyone is out there having a great time and you never feel like you are out of place. Furthermore, on a powder day you are not spending all of your time waiting in lines and can spend more of your day enjoying the fresh snow. If you are like me and hate sitting in lines, then Alpine is definitely the place for you.

3.) Best jumps in Tahoe: Every year I come to Alpine they continue to impress me with their perfectly built jumps. One downfall is that it takes a while for these jumps to get built due to the lack of funding in the terrain park department, but once they are up, they are unbelievable. Jonahs, the terrain park manager, sculpts perfect jumps that have smooth take-offs with huge landings. I love these jumps because they flow really nicely and the landing are endless so you can take them as big or as small as you please.

Overall, Alpine Meadows is one of the greatest resorts in Tahoe. They offer great terrain all around the mountain, a relaxed atmosphere, and the best jumps around. For me, this is all I could ask for and that’s why I spend most of my season skiing at this amazing slice of heaven.

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

3 responses to “Ski Resort Overview – Alpine Meadows”

  1. Kendra Wilson-Change Agent says :

    Hey Jed! Nice content!! I wish I could go to Alpine Meadows, unfortunately they don’t allow snowskates! I guess they aren’t “relaxed” enough. But this blog makes me want to go! Check out my blog on ski resorts that allow snowskates!
    http://kendrawilsonnv.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/experiment-1/

    • jedidiahkravitz says :

      Thanks Kendra! That’s a bummer they don’t allow snowskates. This doesn’t make since to me because I feel it would just give them more business. Have you ever asked Alpine why they don’t allow snowskates on the mountain?

      • Kendra Wilson-Change Agent says :

        I did recently get in touch with Paul Raymore, the Interactive Marketing Director at Alpine. He didn’t give me any information about WHY they don’t allow snowsaktes (although it usually has to do with misinterpretation of insurance coverage due to misclassification of snowskate traffic) but he did say that I should wait until the merger is complete with Squaw before I take anymore action with them because he says they can’t do anything right now. He was very nice, and I’m sure he is correct. I won’t waste my breath until they can do something about it.
        If you want to read more about how insurance coverage affects snowskaters, read my blog: http://kendrawilsonnv.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/fuse-makes-progress-at-crested-butte/

        Phew, sorry about the long response! Keep up the great content!

Leave a Reply

