4 fun activities to keep you occupied during the off-season

Skiing is my favorite thing to do in the world and if i could, I would do it all year round. Unfortunately, I live in area where the snow melts over the summer months and I am forced to find other activities to keep me occupied while I wait for winter to arrive. Here are four great activities I do over the summer months to keep myself from going crazy:

1.) Climbing: Rock climbing is an awesome sport that I recently started doing at the beginning of this summer. Not only is it a great workout, but it’s also very exhilarating and challenging.  Climbing can be done either in a gym or outside. I spend most of my time climbing outdoors because Lake Tahoe offers tons of great climbing spots and I love being outside. In a way I feel that rock climbing is just like skiing because you can always travel to new locations and find new lines or routes to conquer. If you are new to climbing, it is probably a good idea to start in a gym and receive the proper training on how to do it safely. After this, you are ready to head outside and test your ability  on the real thing!

2.) Mountain Biking: I love mountain biking over the summer time because unlike running, it has low-impact on the joints and is a great workout for the body. Furthermore, mountain biking allows me to explore the outdoors and cover far more ground than I would be able to do on foot. Overall mountain biking is an exciting way to get some exercise and spend the day outside.

3.) Cliff-jumping: This one may sound a little crazy to some, but you can really make it as crazy or mellow as you choose depending on how big you want to go. When I say cliff-jumping, I mean jumping off a cliff or bridge into water. This a perfect hobby for the off-season because it allows me to practice my tricks and cool-off on a hot summer day.

4.) Disc-golf: Disc golf is a relatively new sport that not to many people know about. It has the same principle as golf, except instead of hitting a golf-ball, you throw a disc. Wherever the disc lands is where you have to take your next throw from. The goal of the game is to have your disc land in a basket of chains. This is a great sport to do over the summer because it’s relaxing and best of all, it’s usually free! All you need to do is buy a couple of discs and you are ready to play!

Hope these activities help give you something to do as you anxiously wait for the winter like me. Please feel free to share any more fun activities that you may do to occupy yourself over the off-season!

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

