Current Conditions at Boreal

Today I got a chance to head up to Boreal early in the morning and I couldn’t have asked for a better day! The sun was shining without a cloud in the sky and to my surprise, they opened up the accelerator express quad chair. It’s nice having the accelerator open because you get to make some longer runs and it also helps spread out the people in the lift lines. It was great to get some speed going again and really put the new edges to the test.

Currently, Boreal has a wide variety of terrain features set up in the South 40 park. On the skiers right side, the line begins with a flat box. Following this is a rainbow box into a up-flat-down box. Next is a flat-down box into a really smooth down-flat-down round rail (my personal favorite). (This photo was taken from Boreal’s website – I am not taking credit for it) At the bottom of the South 40 park there is a semi-circle with a flat top that you can tap or jib.

The middle of the South 40 park starts with a round wrecking ball tap into a dog house spine. These two unique features are a lot of fun and keep the park interesting. Following these, is a 20 foot lift tower tube that is pretty much in the snow. Next comes a down rail with a short flat followed by a really smooth 25 foot down circle rail. This line then flows into the down-flat-down round rail that I was talking about earlier.

Finally, on the skiers left side, the top of the park starts with the option of a square down rail or an up box. After this comes a wall ride which flows into the down-flat rail. From this point you have a choice to go right into the 25 foot down circle rail or go left into a ten foot jump. At the bottom, on the skiers left, their is a banked wall ride.

In my eyes this is one of the best preseason set-ups Boreal has had in years. The new circle rails are really smooth and tons of fun. It was hard to leave today and I already can’t wait to get back up there tomorrow morning. If you have any questions about the set-up please feel free to share them in the comments section!

Hopefully I’ll see some of you out there tomorrow!

 

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

2 responses to “Current Conditions at Boreal”

  1. bret says :

    dude just stumbled onto this…. sick blog!!

  2. jedidiahkravitz says :

    Thanks Bret, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

