Park Report for Northstar 11/19/2011

This past Saturday I got a chance to make it out to Northstar and check out their new park set-up. Northstar did a great job with the snow that they had to work with and put up tons of features. The set-up was decent but some of the features were a little too small for my liking.

The park is on pinball which normally has medium to advanced features but currently has a variety of beginner to medium features. The first feature of the park is a 3 foot flat box followed by a  2 foot triple barrel flat rail. Following this comes a pretty fun small rainbow box into an extra wide 8-10 foot down box. That concludes the top rail section which then flows into a small 5 foot step-down table.

The middle section of the park starts with a smooth down box that is about 8-10 feet long. Next, there is a 10 foot up box followed by a square 7 foot down rail. The subsequent feature is my favorite in the park, an up-down box. I like this one the most because it is the longest feature so you actually have some time to do some tricks on it. After this, there is a 2 foot round flat bar that I had more fun tapping then actually trying to slide. Finally the bottom of the park ends with a 10 foot true table into an 8 foot wide slanted box.

Overall, the park at Northstar is good because it’s long but I wish they would’ve thrown in some bigger features. I understand that they are working with a very limited amount of snow, still I feel that if they took out a couple smaller features then they could’ve used that snow to create less but more quality features. That being said, lets all pray for snow so Northstar can bring back the quality park that we all know and love!

 

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

