The Skiing Lifestyle

To some people, skiing is just a hobby that they enjoy doing every now and then when they have free-time. Others, like myself, have embraced skiing as much more than a hobby and more of a lifestyle. 

The reason that I say skiing is more of a lifestyle for me is because it has impacted my life in so many different ways. It has been the deciding factor in where I went to college, where I live today, the people that I hang out with, the music I listen to, and so many more different parts of my life.

I am originally from the the East coast  where I was born and raised for the first eighteen years of my life. When I graduated high school my passion for freestyle skiing caused me to pack up all my belongings and move 3,000 miles across the country to a place I had never been in my life. I had heard that the skiing in Lake Tahoe was amazing, and with the Univeristy of Nevada, Reno only being  thirty minutes away, I was sold. 

When I arrived in Reno I didn’t know a single person. Luckily for me, I was able to find others that shared the same love for freestyle skiing and we were able to relate to one another even though we were from completely different parts of the country. After attending the University for four years, most of my closest friends are the people that I ski with on a regular basis. 

If it were not for skiing, I have no idea where or what I would be doing with my life today. I know that you probably aren’t supposed to make the decision of where you attend college based on what the skiing is like, but I’m glad that I did. Skiing gives me so much joy and excitement that I couldn’t imagine life without it. I plan on skiing for the rest of my life and I couldn’t be happier that I ended up in such an amazing place like Lake Tahoe.

Please feel free to share your story of how skiing has impacted your life!

 

 

About jedidiahkravitz

I am a full-time student at the University of Nevada, Reno where I study my passion of entrepreneurship and management. I hope to take this passion and mix it with my knowledge of skiing in order to create a business of my own within the freestyle ski industry.

Leave a Reply

